Album Review: Soundgarden - Superunknown

Superunknown is the fourth studio album by Soundgarden, released on March 8, 1994 and the follow-up to the superb Badmotorfinger. The album was a commercial success, debuting at number one on the Billboard 200 and selling over five million copies in the United States. It was also nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Rock Album.

Soundgarden formed in Seattle, Washington in 1984 with Chris Cornell (vocals, guitar), Kim Thayil (guitar), Ben Shepherd (bass) and Matt Cameron (drums). Soundgarden is one of the most influential bands of the "grunge" movement, and Superunknown is considered one of the greatest rock albums of all time.

When the album was released, the Seattle grunge sound was giving way to a more melodic, yet still heavy, sound and Soundgarden answered in a big way. The record is a trip through crushing drop-tuned power chords, acid trip soundscapes, and dreary undercurrents, while maintaining a "sing along" vibe.

The album features some of Soundgarden's most popular songs, including "Black Hole Sun", "Spoonman", and "Fell on Black Days". The album also features the band's more metal and doomish sounds like "4th of July", as well as more experimental tracks such as "Limo Wreck" and "Half". Thayil and Cornell handle their guitar duties like pure professionals with excellent tone throughout, and mastered the blend of light and heavy with Superunknown.

The album's production was handled by Michael Beinhorn and Soundgarden, and the album was recorded at Bad Animals Studio in Seattle.


1. "Let Me Drown"

2. "My Wave"

3. "Fell on Black Days"

4. "Mailman"

5. "Superunknown"

6. "Head Down"

7. "Black Hole Sun"

8. "Spoonman"

9. "Limo Wreck"

10. "The Day I Tried to Live"

11. "Kickstand"

12. "Fresh Tendrils"

13. "4th of July"

14. "Half"

15. "Like Suicide"

Superunknown is an essential album for any fan of rock or metal music. It showcases Soundgarden's unique sound and songwriting ability, and is a must-have for any fan of the band.

Website design by: